Cheapest, Reviews, Coupon, Best Prices

Cheapest Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) Reviews, Best Prices, Coupon

Microsoft
Price: £85.15 & eligible for FREE Delivery. Details
Special Offers Available? (in Amazon)
You Save: £ 188.69 ?
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 1 hrs 47 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

I like it

Windows 8 works well for me. I have a 27" touchscreen monitor.

I think the negative reviews are primarily from people who are afraid of change. Read more

Published 4 days ago by James S.

Much Ado About Nothing.

Can"t see what the fuss is about myself. Five minutes in and I was like a fish to water. Peace of cake (admittedly I had watched a brief tutorial video first). Read more

Published 7 days ago by supercruze

Help my computer is an XBOX !

Whether you love or loathe this product will be very much down to what you are using your computer for and the type of computer you have. Read more

Published 8 days ago by IS1

Start button, but still no start menu

I could go into detail, but I"ll just share a few simple points from evaluating a trial of Windows 8. Read more

Published 11 days ago by P

windows 8.1

windows 8.1 was better and faster than I thought it would be well worth the money.and, I like the set out too

Published 13 days ago by k.broughton

Works fine with a touchscreen!

I started with Windows 95 as a youngster, and then through XP and Windows 7 with laptops provided by my employers. I have no issues with Windows 7. Read more

Published 23 days ago by Sebastian

Getting used to it - but so far liking what i see!

I built my own machine and decided to go with 8.1

I am a mac user at work and have macs at home for the last 10 years. Read more

Published 24 days ago by Mikey

love it

my wife brought me this because my windows seven had got corrupted on my laptop , twenty minutes later and its like i have a new laptop

Published 25 days ago by lance

buy if you have to but beware

so many problems with it and why sign in twice
why didn"t they just make things simple xp upgrade but no

Published 26 days ago by derek laine

Microsoft Windows 8.1

The software installed correctly on my lap top and is functioning well, by reading the instructions on the screen it has given not problems, Thank you!

Published 28 days ago by Tony P


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

110 of 123 people found the following review helpful

A Significant Improvement Over Windows 8.020 Oct 2013

By Kaio TOP 500 REVIEWER

Edition:8.1 Full Version

Nearly a year ago (on 2012-10-26 to be exact) I made a review of Windows 8 under a title "Will Windows 8 Flop or Fly?". As a Windows user for many years, I was baffled by what Microsoft was up to and I chose an eye-catching title to express my bewilderment of how Microsoft got itself into alienating a significant part of its loyal customers. One year on and now we know the truth and the [self-inflicted] damage done to Microsoft.

My review then didn"t catch much attention - it was lost under the very bottom pile of reviews with a tiny 22 helpful votes from 32 people who bothered to read it, despite the fact that that review was one of the first two or three to appear on Amazon on the day Windows 8 was released.

As I said before, and repeating it now, Windows 8 (and the updated version 8.1) has so many desirable features, most importantly it is fast and refined in many respects. The only major trouble is making the User Interface the same for desktop/laptop and mobile computers. The fact is that touchscreen is well suited to tablets and mobile phones (i.e., hand-held mobile computers), while non-mobile computers such as desktops and laptops need to be supported by a navigational menu system as existed in Windows 7 and its predecessors (a.k.a. Start Menu). Imagine visually sifting through randomly placed square icons to locate an App on a Start Page, as opposed to a navigation based on alphabetical order and logical organisation-by-folders of program shortcuts.
Read more ›

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful

The Start button is back (sort of); other Windows 8 awkwardness remains (and not Linux-friendly) 15 Nov 2013

By North American Technology Consumer

Edition:8.1 Full Version

The initial portion of this review addresses the final stage of an progressive upgrade from Windows 7 with an intermediate step --lasting one year-- at Windows 8 before progressing to Windows 8.1.

Bottom line up front: If you are a power user of Windows 7, and you can keep running your current hardware with a Windows 7 variant: I can"t offer a single compelling reason to make this change. If you"re already using Windows 8, proceeding with the evolution to Windows 8.1 will provide a marginal improvement to the user experience due to the return --sort of-- of the Start button (with much less functionality than in earlier versions of Windows) and the option to boot directly into the desktop (bypassing the clunky "Charms" Metro start page).

I"ve made this upgrade to two computers. For a desktop computer that met the full Windows Store system requirements, I proceeded with the upgrade from Windows 8 from the Store. A netbook I installed Windows 8 on did not have sufficient display resolution to install 8.1 directly from the Windows Store, so I had to run the installation separately via a downloadable 8.1 installer application.

The good news: In both installation cases, The Windows 8 to 8.1 upgrade was issue free (which mirrored the earlier Windows 7 to Windows 8 upgrade experience for both machines). It retained all of my previously installed OS settings, data files and applications. For the netbook upgrade via the installer program I had to enter my Windows 8 activation key (you still have yours, right?); the upgrade via the Store either trusted me or examined the registry for validity of my install.

The not so good news: once Windows 8.
Read more ›

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Needs a health warning on the box 10 Nov 2013

By papatez

Edition:8.1 Full Version|Amazon Verified Purchase

I"d already downloaded the preview version of 8.1 and wanted to buy a clean copy to overcome real or imagined problems that I had encountered (more later). So I gleefully opened the box and loaded the disc. Somewhere in the small-print on the box it warns that, if you were running Windows 7, You would have to reload your apps. That didn"t bother me since I was still happily running all my old apps and desktop programmes on the preview 8.1 version that I had. Anyway, the installation started and posed just a single question: "What do you want to keep? (a) Your personal files or (b) nothing" I chose the former and the instal proceeded to overwrite my preview version (as expected) and wipe off everything else (yes, everything) from my hard disc (definitely not expected). After two days of rebuilding my system, I checked out Internet Explorer to see if the problems I had experienced gaining access to all my usual sites (Bank account etc) had been fixed. To cut a long story short, Microsoft"s solution to some of the security problems that had been reported in computer magazines was to add extra security features that are so good they won"t grant access to any sites that want to collect data (like passwords etc) from your computer. In desperation I looked for another browser programme to load only to discover that Internet Explorer search engine also seems to find it difficult to find any of its competitors" sites. I"m now happily running Firefox browser on Windows 8.1 and getting the service that Internet Explorer couldn"t give me. Windows 8.1 is good in all other respects but do your research before you buy it. Oh!, and make sure you have your desktop programme disks to hand..


Special Offers and Product Promotions

Edition: 8.1 Full Version
  • Get the Latest Norton 360 Security Protection for £24.99 When You Spend £30. Spend £30 or more at Amazon.co.uk and you can get Norton 360 (1 User, 3 PCs) for £24.99. Add both items to your basket and then enter the promo code 'NRTN2014' at checkout. Learn more (terms and conditions apply).
  • Product Description

    Edition: 8.1 Full Version

    Product Description

    Windows 8.1

    Windows 8.1 - Full Version

    Best of Work and Play

    Bring all the aspects of your life together — create, play, discover, connect, and work.

    • Get to it all from the new Start screen, even your familiar desktop
    • Discover popular and unique apps in the Windows Store
    • Personalise with more tile sizes, colours, & backgrounds
    • Do more with side by side views of apps and sites
    • Access photos & files virtually anywhere with SkyDrive built-in
    • Search, browse, and share more securely and quickly

    What’s new with Windows 8.1


    Windows 8.1 Outlook Email and Multitask
    view larger
    Windows 8.1 Store
    view larger
    Windows 8.1 Video Editing
    view larger


    Windows 8.1 Photo App
    view larger
    Windows 8.1 OneNote and Familiar Desktop
    view larger
    Windows 8.1 Search
    view larger


    It Plays as Hard as it Works

    Windows 8.1 gives you the power to quickly browse, watch movies, play games, polish your resume, and pull together a killer presentation — all on a single PC. Now you can organise up to three apps on your screen at once in a single view.

    The Start Screen

    Personalise your Start screen with your favourite news, friends, social networks, and apps. Customisable colours and backgrounds and four different sizes of tiles make your device as unique as you are.

    The Apps you Want

    In addition to great built-in apps for email, people, photos and video editing – you can also download thousands of popular apps from the Windows Store.

    Security

    Stay up to date and more secure with Windows Defender, Windows Firewall, and Windows Update.

    Speed

    Windows 8.1 starts up faster, switches between apps faster, and uses power more efficiently than previous versions of Windows, including Windows 7.

    Your Familiar Desktop

    From the Start screen, you are just a click away from the familiar Windows desktop you know so you can do the stuff you’ve always done.



    Multitasking Made Easy

    It’s easy to do more at once. Snap multiple apps side by side in a single view for easy multitasking.

    Mouse, Keyboard—and now Touch

    Windows 8.1 works harmoniously with various types of devices, including touch, mouse-and-keyboard, or both. Whatever kind of device you have, you'll discover fast and fluid ways to switch between apps, move things around, and go smoothly from one place to another.

    Your files, Everywhere

    Stay connected to your photos and important files and access them on your phone, tablet or PC with SkyDrive. By signing in with your Microsoft account to any of your PCs running Windows 8.1 and you'll immediately see your own background, display preferences, and settings.

    You Keep all your Files

    If your PC is running Windows 7, your files, apps and settings will easily transfer to Windows 8.1.

    You Keep Familiar Programs

    Programs that run on Windows 7 will run on Windows 8.1.

    Your Office. Your Way.

    Experience Office at its best on Windows 8 devices. Discover new and better ways to create, edit, and browse—using a keyboard, pen, or touchscreen. Don't forget: Office is not part of Windows 8.

    Some features require Windows 8.1. Update available through Windows store for Windows 8 users. Internet access required; fees may apply. Don’t forget, Office isn’t included in Windows 8.


    The New Windows

    Windows 8.1 Windows 8.1 Pro Pro Pack
    Your PC is currently running: Windows 7, Windows 8 Windows 7, Windows 8 Windows 8, Windows 8.1
    Great Apps built in such as Mail, Calendar, Messaging, Photos, and SkyDrive with many more available at Windows Store.
    Includes Internet Explorer 11 for fast, intuitive, touch-friendly browsing.
    Keeps you up-to-date and more secure with Windows Defender, Windows Firewall, and Windows Update.
    Works with new and existing Windows desktop software including the full Microsoft Office experience (Outlook, SharePoint Designer and more).*
    Comes with Windows Media Player
    Provides enhanced data protection using BitLocker technology to help keep your information secure.**
    Enables you to connect to your PC when you’re on the go with Remote Desktop Connection.
    Connects to you corporate or school network with Domain Join.
    Watch and record live TV with Windows Media Center.***

    System requirements

    • 1 GHz processor or faster with support for PAE, NX, and SSE2
    • 2 GB RAM
    • 20 GB available hard disk space
    • 1366 x 768 screen resolution
    • DirectX 9 graphics processor with WDDM driver
    • To use touch, you need a PC that supports multitouch
    • Internet access (fees may apply)
    • Microsoft account required for some features
    • Watching DVDs requires separate playback software
    • Windows Media Center licence sold separately

    * Refers to programs built for mouse and keyboard that run in the classic Windows desktop environment.

    ** Data is protected on Windows 8 PCs and removable drives using BitLocker and BitLocker to Go.

    *** Requires a TV tuner.

    Product Description

    32/64-BIT 1 LIC DVD EN See all Product Description
www.sreview.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
[a_com_OA]