Cheapest, Reviews, Coupon, Best Prices

Cheapest Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 2.5 inch Basic SATA Solid State Drive Reviews, Best Prices, Coupon

Samsung
Price: £120.99 & this item Delivered FREE in the UK with Super Saver Delivery. See details and conditions
Special Offers Available? (in Amazon)
You Save: £28.00 (19%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 1 hrs 26 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

By Far The Best SSD in this Price Range ...

The difference in performance is staggering against a HDD
Download the latest version of Samsung Magician from samsung website and configure to you needs
Rapid Mode is... Read more

Published 8 hours ago by Leonel Eleutério

Good drive

This product is excellent. I am using this drive as my boot drive plus I have some games on it. Everything loads much faster.

Published 13 hours ago by Mr B

Great SSD Drive

Great price and great ssd drive. some difference in my pc since installing it. especially running photoshop cc on my pc.

Published 2 days ago by Derek Balfe

A Must have for newly build PC at this era! or an upgrade !

For me it was a choice between a Samsung 840 EVO and a Kingston HyperX 3k both 120GB. But for the price and performance, the best choice was this Samsung EVO 840, at the time of my... Read more

Published 3 days ago by kurosuke

Fast.

After a clean install of Windows 7 on the 250gb drive I now get a 7.9 (the maximum) for data transfer rate in the Windows experience index compared to the 5. Read more

Published 6 days ago by Tony1969

Good working fine so far

Purchase this drive few days back and d I can say its a best thing you can do with your laptop /pc. Although prices are going down every day but still not a bad deal Evan at this... Read more

Published 6 days ago by Rehan Raza

Great SSD

Ok well this came to my attention after a thread on a forum I use (Linustechtips) and someone asked what the best SSD was, and alot of people replied with the Samsung Evo 840. Read more

Published 6 days ago by Ruben

Super Speed Boot Drive

This SSD was the best value for money that i found on the internet, and as the pro is a bit more for about the same read write speed i found this best value for money. Read more

Published 7 days ago by Claudio

Best SSD on the Market

I build my own rigs and I went SSD a few years ago and now I couldn"t go back to normal drives. I had a Crucial 128gb and was looking for an bigger drive so I can use the 128gb for... Read more

Published 7 days ago by Kit

Excellent Fast Hard Disk.

This is an Excellent Fast Hard Disk. I installed it in my laptop which now boots up into windows in record time. Read more

Published 7 days ago by Antony Dimitriou


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful

Great upgrade, easy installation9 Oct 2013

By NickR

Size Name:250GB|Amazon Verified Purchase

I purchased a Samsung 840 EVO 250GB to get a bit more life out of a six year old HP PC. To be fair, it had already had some upgrades a couple years into its life giving it 4GB of ram and a separate graphics card. Recently it had become pretty slow and unresponsive, taking fully 10 minutes to start cooperating after being switched on. It was equipped with two 150Gb hard drives, one holding systems and data and the other being a back up drive for data.

Samsung"s cloning software worked without a hitch but, stupidly on my part, instead of removing the old systems disk, I inadvertantly swapped out the data back up disk. I was somewhat disappointed then by the performance but, of course, the system was still booting from the original disk instead of the SSD. When I realised my mistake, I re-cloned the old hard drive as Windows had allocated Drive N as the name of the SSD. I then swapped out the original system disk and rebooted. This time the SSD became drive C as it should be and I was then able to reinstall the back up disk.

The difference in performance is staggering. Windows boots to ready to run in approx 60 secs. Programs like Word and Excel take less than 10 secs to load. I had thought that I would have to do a clean install of windows and reinstall of all my programs to cure the slowness fully but the speeds I am getting make this unnecessary. It would though, probably speed things up further.

Some pointers for anyone upgrading to an SSD

1) The initial clone of my system disk (111Gb) was done via USB2 and took about 2 hours. The second clone was done with the SSD installed in a spare drive bay in the computer and took about 35 minutes. The moral of the story is that you can clone the disk via USB 2 but be prepared for a long wait.
Read more ›

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Boots my Mac faster than my monitor turns on! 30 Oct 2013

By Sam Culley

Size Name:250GB|Amazon Verified Purchase

I bought the Samsung 840 EVO 250GB after reading various reviews online and came to the conconclusion that it would be suitable for my needs and at the price it was a perfect match.

Delivery was quick as usual, and I installed it in my Mac Mini the same day I received it. Included in the box is a DVD with software for transferring your data from your old hard drive to the new SSD, as I was using a Mac I did not use this but its useful for anyone thats not too knowledgeable on the process.

I instructions manual with a generic guide for installing the SSD into various devices is also included which will help anyone unsure.

After I installed Mac OS Mavericks onto the new SSD, I tested read/write speeds and its at least x5 faster!! The boot time has decreased to on average 10secs. From a cold boot to login screen my mac mini literally loads faster than my 27" monitor takes to turn on.

The Samsung 840 EVO 250GB is great and I would recommend it for anyone wanting to increase the speed of their machine.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Great drive - fast and reliable 17 Oct 2013

By MIKE TILLMAN

Size Name:250GB|Amazon Verified Purchase

Updated my older MacBook with this drive and it absolutely fliies now. Will be buying another to update my Mac Pro desktop.

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Superb... but be careful 22 Nov 2013

By P. Morris

Size Name:750GB|Amazon Verified Purchase

Not going to write much here as I"d just be repeating what others have said. The drive (750GB version) is superb, can"t fault it.
Do your research though, especially on the version of SATA you have in your machine. If you don"t have SATA III, the drive will be restricted by the speed of your SATA version. I overlooked this and found the drive doesn"t perform as I was lead to believe when reading tech reviews. I"m lucky enough to have a fairly high spec system though and was able to switch on rapid mode, which takes 2GB of system ram. But with this enabled, the drive now gives the kind of performance I was expecting in the first place. If you have SATA III plus rapid mode enable then performance will be ridiculously fast.

Another point to note is that you can configure the drive for over provisioning. You can lookup the detail of what this is, basically if you give it a portion of the drive to work with, it helps prolong the life of your drive. I gave 10% and my 750GB drive is now presented in windows as a 628GB drive (you don"t get the advertised 750GB, anyway as per any drive).

This seems like a negative review, but just wanted to point out the main things which took the shine off the experience for me initially.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Wonderful drive, easy migration software. 31 Oct 2013

By Jack Chakotay VINE VOICE

Size Name:500GB|Amazon Vine Review (What"s this?)

This is a neat kit with the 840 Evo and Samsung"s proprietary disk management and migration software on a CD. There are two stickers to let you proclaim your upgraded system has a Samsung SSD inside. There are two printed items: a visual instruction guide to tell you what to do for either a laptop or desktop SSD upgrade (This heavily involves the CD supplied) There is also a three year warranty with the usual fine print.

The drive itself is sleek and dark. There are no mounting kits. (Mine currently is hanging from its wires in the desktop- there are no moving parts- why worry?)

My machine: HP p6-2065uk i7 2600, 8Gb RAM
Windwos 8 on Sandisk extreme 128Gb (boot option)
Windows 7 on HDD 1.5Tb
Asus 7750 Graphics card (AMD)

The windows 7 was cloned onto SSD after partitioning and I upgraded to Windows 8 directly on the SSD.

The 840 Evo system migration was actually pretty painless. The Samsung Magician is the drive management program. Drive Migrate kicks in on recognition of the Samsung SSD. I immediately was asked if I wanted to update to the latest versions of these programs which I allowed. Samsung Migrate immediately set up for cloning the disk with the OS on it. This is important. I initially installed the Samsung programs to my legacy HDD first. Magician recognised the smaller SSD which had Windows 8 on it, but the SSD did not show up on as a source disc. it meant that had to install yet another program onto SSD space, but with 500Gb on the 840 Evo to transfer to, I was happy to go ahead.

Firstly my primary machine doesn"t have a SATA 3 interface, only SATA 2. However the speed difference is noticeable form my 120Gb Sandisk extreme.
Read more ›


Product Description

Product Description

The Samsung SSD 840 EVO is a high performance SSD designed for power users. Capable of delivering up to 98,000 IOPS Random Read Speed and 540MB/s Sequential Read speed, it is an SSD of unrivaled high performance. Even better, the advanced MEX controller delivers these speeds regardless of data type, unlike some competing controllers that greatly favor compressible data. The market-leading 840 Series SSD was significantly improved upon in the 840 EVO. Samsung’s new TurboWrite technology delivers dramatically faster sequential write performance. And, with upgrades to NAND, a new controller and firmware, the 840 EVO has superfast responsiveness under everyday workloads. Samsung’s unparalleled end-to-end integration allows us to deliver a reliable, high-performance 2nd generation 3-bit MLC SSD. The upgraded firmware and advanced signal processing guarantees the same level of endurance and reliability as our previous generation, while improving performance. The 840 EVO’s ultra-low power consumption helps extend laptop battery life longer than before. In addition, Samsung’s “Dynamic Thermal Guard” algorithm in 840 EVO maintains optimal operating temperature for the drive. Samsung 840 EVO is backed by the same 3-year limited warranty as the previous generation.

Box Contains

1 x MZ-7TE250BW
1 x SSD Installation Guide(Printed)
1 x SSD Warranty Summary(Printed)
1 x Samsung software & manual CD
Samsung Activation Sticker
www.sreview.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
[a_com_OA]